Joy Division | Closer

 On July 18th, 1980, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.  The album was released posthumously through Factory Records, following the suicide of lead singer Ian Curtis two months earlier. With the integration of synths, and even darker and atmospheric production from producer Martin Hannett, the record was lauded as a gothic masterpiece, surpassing “Unknown Pleasures” which came out the previous year.

The cover artwork was designed by both Martyn Atkins and Peter Saville. The photograph on the cover was taken by Bernard Pierre Wolff, and is an image of Jesus and Mary from Appiani family tomb in the Cimitero Monumentale di Staglieno in Genoa, Italy.


Watch above the 2007 documentary on the band, where Peter Saville comments that he, upon learning of singer Ian Curtis’s suicide, expressed immediate concern over the album’s design, remarking “we’ve got a tomb on the cover of the album!”

Side A

  1. “Atrocity Exhibition”
  2. “Isolation”
  3. “Passover”
  4. “Colony”
  5. “A Means to an End”


Side B

  1.  “Heart and Soul”
  2. “Twenty Four Hours”
  3. “The Eternal”
  4.  “Decades”