Nine Inch Nails | Pretty Hate Machine

On October 20th, 1989 Nine Inch Nails released their iconic debut LP Pretty Hate Machine. The album’s demo was a labor of love produced and recorded in between shifts while singer songwriter Trent Reznor was working nights as a custodian at the Right Track Studio in Cleveland, Ohio.

Reznor would then eventually sign to TVT records, self recording the album with the aid of legendary producers Flood, Keith LeBlanc, Adrian Sherwood, and John Fryer.

Have you seen these boys?

For the album’s tour, Reznor quickly formed a band with guitarist Richard Patrick, the brother of actor Robert Patrick, who would later go on to front Filter. During an interview with The Nerdist Podcast, Robert Patrick revealed that he was pitching the music from Pretty Hate Machine for the soundtrack for Terminator 2: Judgment Day to Director James Cameron, but was overruled by Arnold Schwarzenegger.

While touring North America in support of Pretty Hate Machine, Nine Inch Nails were booked as an opening act for post-punk heroes such as Peter Murphy and The Jesus and Mary Chain.

The album has 3 hit singles:

Down In It

Head Like A Hole



  1. Head Like a Hole
  2. Terrible Lie
  3. Down in It
  4. Sanctified
  5. Something I Can Never Have
  6. Kinda I Want To
  7. Sin
  8. That’s What I Get
  9. The Only Time
  10. Ringfinger