Siouxsie and the Banshees | Nocturne

One of the best Post-Punk live albums of all time is most certainly Siouxsie & The Banshees’ Nocturne. Recorded September 30th and October 1st, and released on November 25th, 1983, Nocturne was a double live album and concert video from two amazing sets at Royal Albert Hall in London.

The concerts were two homecoming gigs after the band had performed abroad in Japan, Australia, and Israel—and followed the released of the Dear Prudence single which marked the acquisition of The Cure’s Robert Smith as an official member of the band. Smith had previously been a temporary member replacing John McKay for the remainder of the Join Hands tour in ’79, so this was the Cure singer/guitarists second time filling in for an outgoing Banshees guitarist—is this case the hard to fill shoes of the brilliant John McGeoch. 


Along with the televised performance on Rockpalast, Nocturne showcases Siouxsie and The Banshees at their very best. You can pick up a copy of Nocturne in the upcoming Banshees boxsets, the first of which is due out on January 29th, 2016.


  1. Israel” (6:45)
  2. Dear Prudence”  (3:55)
  3. “Paradise Place” (4:28)
  4. Melt!” (3:48)
  5. “Cascade” (4:35)
  6. “Pulled to Bits” (4:03)
  7. “Night Shift” (6:27)
  8. “Sin in My Heart” (3:31)
  9. Slowdive” (4:18)
  10. “Painted Bird” (3:56)
  11. Happy House” (4:39)
  12. “Switch” (6:35)
  13. Spellbound” (4:31)
  14. Helter Skelter”  (3:42)
  15. “Eve White/Eve Black”  (2:58)
  16. “Voodoo Dolly” (8:42)


  1. “Israel”
  2. “Cascade”
  3. “Melt!”
  4. “Pulled to Bits”
  5. “Night Shift”
  6. “Sin in My Heart”
  7. “Painted Bird”
  8. “Switch”
  9. “Eve White/Eve Black”
  10. “Voodoo Dolly”
  11. “Spellbound”
  12. “Helter Skelter”


Here are a few interview clips from New Zealand and Australia from February of 83,