Talking Heads | Talking Heads: 77 (Debut Album)

On September 16th 1977, Talking Heads released their debut LP Talking Heads: 77—featuring the single “Psycho Killer”.

Originally called The Artistics, these Alumni of Rhode Island School of DesignDavid Byrne, Chris Frantz, and Tina Weymouth—moved to New York and became an integral part of the avant-garde Art-Punk scene, and along with Television were an integral part of the development of what would later be called Post-Punk.

Watch above a 1978 performance from the BBC’s Old Grey Whistle Test.

Talking Heads played their first gig as “Talking Heads” opening for the Ramones at CBGB on June 5, 1975.


Side A

  1. Uh-Oh, Love Comes To Town
  2. New Feeling
  3. Tentative Decisions
  4. Happy Day
  5. Who Is It ?
  6. No Compassion

Side B

  1. The Book I Read
  2. Don’t Worry About The Government
  3. First Week / Last Week…Carefree
  4. Psycho Killer
  5. Pulled Up